Board of Education

Who makes up the Board of Education? The Dorchester County Board of Education is composed of five citizens who have been elected to a four-year term to represent various regions of the county. Policies set by the Board are administered by the Superintendent of Schools, who serves as the executive officer of the Board, and his professional staff. In 1988, the Board voted to have two student representatives serve as non-voting members. These students advise the Board on thoughts, viewpoints, and issues of concern to students. They attend all public sessions of the Board but not closed or "executive" sessions.

The Board meets regularly each month. Special sessions are held as needed. Dorchester County citizens are encouraged to attend Board meetings and may address the Board at the beginning or end of each meeting during "Comments From The Public." Individuals may also request that a specific time be designated on the formal agenda to address the Board on a special topic. These requests should be made in writing to the Superintendent of Schools at least two weeks prior to the scheduled meeting. You may send request to the Superintendent, 700 Glasgow Street, Cambridge, MD 21613 or email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Dorchester County Board of Education 2017-2018


Mr. Glenn L. Bramble


Bramble 2017


Mr. Philip W. Rice

Vice President

Rice 2017




Mr. LeOtha N. Hull

Hull 2017

 Mrs. Laura H. Layton

Layton 2017



Mr. Glen A. Payne, Sr.

Payne 2017




Student Board Representatives 2017 - 2018

Daniel Garcia

Cambridge-South Dorchester High School

Daniel Garcia C SDHS Student Board Representative

Kalifa Warren

North Dorchester High School

Kalifa Warren NDHS Student Board Representative